Pregnancy

Breastfeeding classes in Singapore: who teaches them, what they cost, and when to book

A standalone breastfeeding class in Singapore costs up to about S$97 (as of September 2026), and the floor depends on which product you buy. The charity Breastfeeding Mothers' Support Group (BMSG) lists its pre-recorded Breastfeeding 101 workshop as a range, S$0.00 to S$80.00, because its checkout carries a picture-book add-on and an option for holders…

By Wei Chun

Updated 2 Oct 2026

16 min read

A standalone breastfeeding class in Singapore costs up to about S$97 (as of September 2026), and the floor depends on which product you buy. The charity Breastfeeding Mothers’ Support Group (BMSG) lists its pre-recorded Breastfeeding 101 workshop as a range, S$0.00 to S$80.00, because its checkout carries a picture-book add-on and an option for holders of a Blue CHAS Card, the subsidy card for lower-income households. BMSG does not print the price for each combination, so the S$0.00 floor is not a price you can count on. A three-hour in-person class with Tender Loving Milk, taught by an International Board Certified Lactation Consultant (IBCLC), is S$60 for one person and S$97 for a couple.

Check one thing before you pay either. KKH says every KKH patient can sign up for a complimentary breastfeeding class at its Patient Education Centre, whether or not they bought the hospital’s antenatal package. And the four hospital antenatal courses in the table below all teach breastfeeding as one module inside a course you may already have booked, priced from S$217.60 to S$438.

On timing, the hospitals agree with each other. KKH and SGH both say to register after week 16 of the pregnancy. Thomson says to register as soon as the pregnancy is confirmed and pick a class date after week 20.

What a breastfeeding class teaches that your antenatal class does not

Start with the word “antenatal”. It means before the birth. An antenatal class is the general course many first-time parents book, and breastfeeding is one topic inside it. A breastfeeding class is a session about feeding and nothing else.

Look at what the hospitals put on their own syllabus pages and the split is obvious.

An antenatal course, at a hospital
Breastfeeding is one line on a list. KKH’s course highlights are labour and delivery, antenatal and postnatal physiotherapy, breastfeeding, newborn care, and a complimentary “Nurturing Your Child” talk. Singapore General Hospital (SGH) lists “breastfeeding and skin to skin contact” beside nutrition, pain relief, preparation for delivery and a labour ward tour. Thomson lists breastfeeding beside baby care, alternative feeding methods, labour preparation, pain management, pregnancy-safe exercise and the role of the husband.
A standalone breastfeeding class
The whole session is feeding. BMSG’s pre-recorded Breastfeeding 101 covers getting breastfeeding off to a good start, maintaining a good milk supply, and how to know if breastfeeding is going well. Tender Loving Milk’s class covers latch mechanics (how the baby takes the breast), engorgement (breasts that get painfully full), milk production and supply, pumping and flange sizing (matching the pump cup to your nipple), bottle feeding and paced feeding (giving a bottle slowly so the baby can stop), and how to tell if a baby is actively drinking.
A one-to-one lactation consultation
Not a class at all. An IBCLC watches your baby feed and works on your problem. It happens after the birth, when there is a baby to watch. The last section of this guide covers when that is the better spend.

So the honest answer to “do I need a separate class” depends on how much detail you want on the one topic the class covers in full. A hospital course gives you a broad map of the birth and the weeks after it. A standalone class gives you three hours on feeding alone, with hands-on practice in the in-person versions.

One more practical difference. National University Hospital (NUH) states on its programme page that its course fees are inclusive of all topics and that it does not charge by topic selection. You cannot buy the breastfeeding half of a hospital course on its own.

Our guide to birthing classes in Singapore covers the birth half of the same decision, including the hospital courses in full.

Who runs breastfeeding classes in Singapore, and what each one costs

Nine options, each fee taken from the provider’s own page. Seven were checked on 22 September 2026; the NUH and Thomson fees were checked on 2 September 2026. The second column is the one to read first, because it tells you whether you are buying a whole session on feeding or a course with a feeding module in it.

Breastfeeding classes and antenatal courses with a breastfeeding module in Singapore, with the fee each provider publishes on its own page, as at September 2026. These are prices charged by the provider. None is a subsidy, and none is a figure this guide worked out. Where a fee says GST, that is the goods and services tax.
Provider and class Whole session on feeding, or a module Format and length Fee, as at September 2026 When to book
KKH, Antenatal Breastfeeding Counselling at the Patient Education Centre Whole session Not stated on the page Complimentary for KKH patients Speak to your doctor or clinic staff, or email [email protected]
BMSG, Breastfeeding 101 Workshop, pre-recorded, English Whole session Three-hour recording, hosted in a private Facebook group S$0.00 to S$80.00 Any time, it is a recording
BMSG, Breastfeeding 101 in Mandarin, pre-recorded Whole session Recording S$30.00 to S$80.00 Any time, it is a recording
BMSG, Mum 2 Mum meet-up Not a class, a mothers’ group with counsellors present Monthly, online, several sessions a month Free Any time, including while pregnant
Tender Loving Milk, Prenatal Breastfeeding Essentials Class Whole session Three hours in person at Kaki Bukit, 10am to 1pm S$60 solo, S$97 a couple, plus S$40 for an extra caregiver New dates added every two months
KKH Antenatal Programme Module, alongside labour, physiotherapy and newborn care 4-week course, or a 1-day intensive 4-week course S$240 for KKH patients and S$296 for others; 1-day intensive S$306 and S$326 Register after week 16; registration closes two weeks before the class starts
NUH Community Antenatal Programme Module, listed as “breastfeeding and infant feeding” Normal class, five Saturdays of two hours plus a baby massage session; Express class, one Saturday of 4.5 hours plus baby massage; or online videos with two years of access S$288, S$238 or S$50, GST included, non-refundable Not stated on the page
SGH Antenatal 1-Day Intensive Course Module, listed as “breastfeeding and skin to skin contact” First Saturday of the month, 8.00am to 5.30pm S$217.60, S$237.18 or S$308.34, GST included, non-refundable Register after week 16
Thomson ParentCraft Centre, Childbirth Education Course Module, alongside labour, baby care and alternative feeding Three parts: a four-hour theory class, a three-hour practical class, and an e-learning portal S$408 a couple on weekdays and S$438 at weekends and public holidays, GST included Register once the pregnancy is confirmed, then pick a date after week 20

Four notes on reading that table, because the providers do not present their prices the same way.

SGH publishes three fee columns and does not label them in words. The headings on its page are SUB, PTE and NR, at S$217.60, S$237.18 and S$308.34. The page does not say what the three stand for, so ask SGH which one applies to you before you assume you are paying the lowest.

KKH’s page does not say whether GST is in its fee. NUH, SGH and Thomson each state that theirs is. KKH states neither way on its programme page, so treat S$240 as the figure before any tax that may be added.

BMSG’s prices are ranges, not typos. The English workshop’s listing runs from S$0.00 to S$80.00 because the checkout carries two choices that move the figure: a picture-book add-on called “My Sweet Baby”, and a Blue CHAS Card option. BMSG does not print the price for each combination, so put it in the cart before you decide. All proceeds fund BMSG’s own operations, counselling and programmes.

Thomson’s fee is per couple, not per person. Its price also includes a learning kit it values at S$80, handed out at the practical class, and it takes 10 per cent off for members of Thomson Medical’s First and Subsequent Born Incentive Programme.

What is free, and what you may have paid for already

Two things here cost nothing, and the first one is easy to miss.

KKH gives its own patients a free breastfeeding class. KKH’s classes page calls it Complimentary Antenatal Breastfeeding Counselling, and says all KKH patients are eligible to sign up for a complimentary breastfeeding class at the Patient Education Centre. That is the hospital’s own resource centre for pregnancy and parenting. The offer is not tied to buying the paid antenatal programme, so a KKH patient who booked nothing can still ask for it. Speak to your doctor or clinic staff, or email [email protected].

KKH’s page stops there. It does not say how long the session is, whether it is one to one or a group, whether a partner may come, or how far ahead to book. Put those four questions in the email.

BMSG’s Mum 2 Mum meet-ups are free. They run monthly and online, several sessions a month spanning weekdays and weekends, and BMSG says pregnant mothers are welcome, not only mothers already feeding. Trained counsellors attend to answer questions. It is a mothers’ group rather than a taught class, so it will not give you a syllabus, but it costs nothing and you can go while still pregnant.

One more number to keep, whatever you decide. BMSG runs a counselling hotline and WhatsApp line on +65 6339 3558, 9.00am to 9.00pm daily. HPB’s own HealthHub services list names BMSG on that number, alongside the Association for Breastfeeding Advocacy, Singapore (ABAS) and KKH Lactation Services on 6225 5554.

Then there is the class you may already have bought. If you have booked the antenatal course at KKH, NUH, SGH or Thomson, a breastfeeding module is inside it. You are not choosing between a breastfeeding class and nothing. You are choosing whether to add a second, deeper session on top of one you have already paid for.

When in the pregnancy to book

Three providers publish a timing rule, and they do not contradict each other. KKH recommends registering for its antenatal programme after 16 weeks of pregnancy, so there is enough time left for birth preparation and planning. SGH recommends the same week for its own course. Thomson splits the two decisions: register as soon as the pregnancy is confirmed, then choose a class date after week 20.

Read those together and the practical window is week 16 to roughly week 30. Early enough that you are not booking a class for a date after your baby arrives, late enough that the material is still fresh when you need it.

Two cautions from the same pages, both about what happens if you leave it late.

Slots run out. KKH’s page marked its 3 October 2026 intensive course full as at 22 September 2026, and KKH closes registration two weeks before a class starts, or earlier once the slots fill. SGH says its class slots are limited and that priority may go to SGH patients further along in the pregnancy, for example at 30 weeks and above.

And the hospital courses are strict once paid. KKH says that once payment and registration are confirmed, changes to the course fee or the class schedule are not allowed, and that there are no replacement classes if you miss one. NUH and SGH both say their fees are non-refundable.

The pre-recorded options do not have this problem. BMSG’s Breastfeeding 101 is a recording in a private Facebook group, so there is no date to miss.

Can your partner come, and do they pay

Yes to the first, and it depends on the provider for the second.

Thomson’s fee is quoted per couple, S$408 on a weekday, so the second seat is already in the price. Thomson answers the question directly on its own page: partners are welcome, and the course covers how a partner supports you in labour, newborn care tasks such as bathing, swaddling and nappy changes, and massage for pregnancy aches. Its topic list carries “the role of the husband” as a heading of its own.

Tender Loving Milk charges by the seat and tells you the arithmetic. One person is S$60, a couple is S$97, and an extra caregiver, which it describes as your mother, sister or helper, is S$40 more.

BMSG’s pre-recorded workshop is bought once and watched by whoever is in the room. BMSG says the content suits fathers and other family members who will be supporting the breastfeeding mum.

KKH describes its antenatal programme as preparing you and your partner, and NUH’s syllabus carries “becoming the father I want to be” as a topic. NUH goes further in its class notes: you are encouraged to attend all classes with your partner, and each participant may be accompanied by one partner only. Neither the KKH nor the NUH programme page states whether a partner’s seat costs extra, so ask.

A class, or a lactation consultant after the birth

This is the question the provider pages leave alone. We read the class pages of KKH, NUH, SGH, Thomson, BMSG and Tender Loving Milk for this guide, and not one of them tells you when to skip the class and put the money into a one-to-one consultation instead.

Tender Loving Milk is the useful case, because the same IBCLC sells both and prints both prices. Her class is S$97 a couple. One consultation on its own, at your home, is S$190 for an hour or S$269 for 90 minutes, plus a transport fee of S$15 or S$30 depending on where you live. A virtual session is S$95 for 30 minutes or S$175 for an hour. Her smallest package, Mini 30-Day, is S$566: one 90-minute consultation at home, one 60-minute follow-up at home, a month of text support and S$50 of product credit. The 100-day package is S$1,027.

One caution on those figures. The same page prints a second, lower set in its own FAQ, S$180 to S$261 for a home visit, S$170 to S$255 in the office and S$90 to S$174 online, and it does not say which set is current. Confirm the price when you book.

So one home visit is about twice the price of the couple class, and the entry package is about six times it, from the same teacher. That gap is the whole decision, and it buys something a class cannot give you.

Bar chart of one Singapore lactation consultant's published prices, from S$97 for a prenatal breastfeeding class for a couple up to S$1,027 for her 100 day support package From one Singapore IBCLC, a couple's class is S$97 and her support packages run to S$1,027. Source: Tender Loving Milk's own class, consultation and package pages, read 22 September 2026. From one Singapore IBCLC, a couple's class is S$97 and her support packages… Tender Loving Milk's own class, consultation and package pages, read 22 September 2026 Prenatal breastfeeding… S$97 Virtual consultation, 6… S$175 Home consultation, 1 hour S$190 Home consultation, 1.5… S$269 Mini 30-Day support… S$566 Signature 100-Day suppo… S$1,027 Published price, S$
From one Singapore IBCLC, a couple's class is S$97 and her support packages run to S$1,027. Source: Tender Loving Milk's own class, consultation and package pages, read 22 September 2026. One provider only, chosen because the same IBCLC sells the class and the consultations, so the figures compare. The two home consultation rows carry an extra transport fee of S$15 or S$30. The same consultation page prints a second, lower set of ranges in its own FAQ without saying which is current, so confirm the price when you book. These are one provider's prices, not a Singapore market rate.
Bar chart of one Singapore lactation consultant's published prices, from S$97 for a prenatal breastfeeding class for a couple up to S$1,027 for her 100 day support package
What you buy Published price, S$
Prenatal breastfeeding class, per couple S$97
Virtual consultation, 60 minutes S$175
Home consultation, 1 hour S$190
Home consultation, 1.5 hours S$269
Mini 30-Day support package S$566
Signature 100-Day support package S$1,027

There is also a middle option before you spend anything. BMSG’s counselling hotline and WhatsApp line, +65 6339 3558, runs 9.00am to 9.00pm daily, and its counsellors are trained under the Australian Breastfeeding Association syllabus. HealthHub also lists KKH Lactation Services on 6225 5554 during office hours. A phone call will not replace an assessment, but it will tell you whether you need one.

If you do book a consultant, check the credential yourself. IBCLC stands for International Board Certified Lactation Consultant, and the International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE) runs a public registry you can search by name or by the consultant’s credential number, which looks like L-12345. Our guide to lactation consultants in Singapore covers how to choose one.

What to do next

The table gets you a shortlist. Two phone calls get you a decision.

  1. Ask your delivering hospital whether it gives its own patients a complimentary breastfeeding class. KKH does. If yours does, take it before you buy anything.
  2. Check your antenatal course booking for a breastfeeding module. All four hospital courses above have one, so you may already have paid for a lesson you forgot was in there.
  3. Decide whether you still want a whole session on feeding. If the answer is no, stop here and keep BMSG’s hotline number for the first week.
  4. If the answer is yes, pick on format rather than on price. A recording you can pause is a different thing from three hours of hands-on practice, and the gap between them is about S$97.
  5. Book it for a date between week 16 and week 30, and register earlier than that if the provider’s page tells you to.

Then read our antenatal and birthing classes guide for the birth half of the same decision, and our guide to getting the latch right for the week after it. Our pregnancy guides cover the rest of the months in between.

Nothing on this page is medical advice about you or your baby. If feeding hurts, or your baby is not gaining weight, call your hospital’s lactation service or your doctor.

Wei Chun

Wei Chun

Founder & Editor

A Singapore parent writing the guide he wished he'd had — practical, calm, and grounded in what actually works.

More from Pregnancy

See all